Getting new webroutines deployed

In recent versions of Lansa – I think from v.14SP2 and later – if you want to deploy a patch package new webroutine in an existing WAM, you need to check the “Install Imports” setting.

The relevant documentation has this to say:

“If the Install Imports option is selected, standard imports and repository definitions are included in the patch:

Standard importsIncludes Web Resources, Web Utilities, Standard Weblets, Messages, System Variables and Technology Services. These imports may change in a new LANSA release (GA, SP or EPC).Standard imports ensure changes in the associated import files are applied. For large applications, this may be a time-consuming task.
Repository definitionsUpdates to Repository Definitions may be needed for Repository Help and Repository Security. When installing WAM, Weblet or External Resource file changes do not require an import because the associated files are published directly. Only changes to External Resource definitions require an import. These changes include file path changes, mime type changes and file encoding changes. LANSA will not inform you of this. You will need to determine this yourself.

I didn’t understand it that way but now I know: I need to check the “Install Imports” setting.

That also means I can’t make the patch uninstallable.

And I might add, I need to use patches rather than versions, as a new version will remove my Lansa Web Administrator settings, along with removing my IIS settings.

Leave a comment